The largest Civic Type R club forum

Established in 2002 it brings together people from all over the world to discuss their one love of Type R's.

Here you can brag away boys (and girls)
Hi everyone I'm Adam, I'm a motorsport engineer currently studying at Oxford Brookes and this is my first CTR. I've had turbo cars previously in the form of starlets but they are too unreliable for my liking and I've always had a vtec itch that's needed scratching so after about 3-4 months of searching for a CTR that was quite specific I finally found what I was looking for.

After going to view around 4 CTR's are figured out exactly what I was after, a facelift model with under 100k miles, no modifications (or at least very little), full service history and preferably in Cosmic grey, a long with being at the right price.

I then found a 54 plate cosmic grey CTR which had covered 97k miles ( apparently 50k were motorway miles), completely standard except for a headunit and with full service history. I loved the car as soon as I saw it, went out in it and it pulled really well with no unusual noises, had a few downsides which were track rod ends were starting to deteriorate, rust has just started coming through on the rear arches but is only surface at the moment and I wanted to get the timing chain done.

After two days of ownership I gave the car a good wash and detail and came out like this.

And some proper photo's.

I then also started to gather some bits for a service, so I bought some Millers 5w40 Nanodrive, Hamp oil filter, Honda Type 2 coolant, ADL blueprint pollen filter and I had some NGK BKR7EIX laying in my toolbox unused. So I decided to gap the spark plugs which out of the box were preset to 0.7mm, I then changed this to 1.1mm and the car seems to be running fine so far with no issues.

So time came round to doing the service and first up was the pollen filter, the old was full of crap and was well overdue to be replaced.
Old

New